Lentos

It’s been awhile since my last post. Andrew’s had a weird schedule and our “one-day” travels have cease to exist at the moment. But our exploring hasn’t ended. When we first arrived in Linz, the immigration office welcomed us with a booklet full of free admissions to the top attractions around the city. It was out of our heads for a while – We were too busy sight-seeing in other areas – But we’ve remembered and used one pass to visit the contemporary art museum in Linz, Lentos Kunstmeseum. 

Letnos

I love art museums. I really, really, do. I think in all my posts I talk about my love for pretty much everything that we’ve done. But really, anything that gets me out of the house and is interesting, I pretty much fall in love with. So I was pretty excited for this afternoon trip, while dragging Andrew with me.

The first exhibit we saw was a light installation called Sua fogueira cósmica (Your cosmic campfire) by Olafur Eliasson. In the middle of a dark room was a lantern, similar to a lighthouse lantern, which had films of colors that rotated around the room.  The idea behind the exhibit is for viewers to observe and think of the mechanisms of color perception. I sat in the room for quite some time watching the colors change and move around the room. I don’t have anything intelligent to say about the exhibit, only that the lights and colors were mesmerizing to me. The next exhibit was another installation by Olafur Eliasson and Frederik Ottesen called Little Sun. The two of them put together a project to afford places in the world without electricity, light. Each little flower-shaped, solar-powered light was on sale for €20 and when purchased, give these same little lights to people all over the world at a price they can afford. More information about the project can be found here.

Lights

The rest was pretty standard for a contemporary art museum. We saw paintings and sculptures we really didn’t have an explanation for.

Contemporary

Corner

Painting

We saw some Andy Warhol, which seems all too common for most contemporary museums.

Warhol

We saw Woman’s Head by Gustav Klimt, one of Austria’s most famous painters.

Lady

And last, we saw an exhibit we couldn’t take pictures of and I’m not even sure I would have wanted to. It was by HR Giger. Most famous for his creature in the 1979 film Alien, this exhibit showed his paintings, creations, films and the like. If it had been in English, maybe it would have been more appealing to me but, with no offense, it was more than a bit bizarre. Just ask Andrew his opinion …

We finished the tour with a little happy hour bier at the café before our walk home. It was a fun afternoon of exploring in our own neighborhood.

If anyone is up for visiting, I still have one more ticket to use 😉

Tell me what you think ...

