Mister …. La la la la la la

I have found a new LOVE in a popular Japanese pastime. Just a short, couple blocks from our apartment is a little place called BanBan. What is this place exactly? Well … it is a karaoke bar. And it’s not just your typical karaoke bar. This bar is mansion-sized with private rooms for you and your friends to sing at the top of your lungs and dance the night away (no more putting up with that annoying drunk who only sings about being brokenhearted). Sounds like a great night!

So one night, Andrew and I went. He had raved about it since before I even came to Japan and really, really, really wanted to go. After having a glass of wine at home, to loosen (my vocal cords) up, we walked to BanBan … For those that know me, you know how much I LOVE MUSIC. What could be better than a night of music and singing? And ever since that night. I.am.obsessed.

By the look on Andrew’s face, this must have been a song by the Goo Goo Dolls. From over 1,000+ songs to choose from, he picks them … every time.

Of course an evening of singing and dancing wouldn’t be complete without “American Pie” dedicated to all my gphi’s 🙂

A couple of weeks ago, we went to BanBan again. An hour into belting out our favorite tunes, some of Andrew’s teammates showed up. We invited them into our room and my music life has been forever changed.

So what do young adults like me listen to in Japan? Lady Gaga (a given). Kings of Leon (a bit of a surprise). And Kara (a … wait, who?). Watch the video and see for yourself. I.am.obsessed.

I sooooooooooooooooooooooo need to find one of these places in the states!

2 thoughts on “Mister …. La la la la la la

  1. cute and fun. Have you heard ” Red Solo Cup”? It’s a Country/Western song that is a fun song. I noticed Kara’s grooup has a common piece of attire in each costume(?) Does it resemble a thong or suspenders? Love, Nona

Tell me what you think ...

