Nostalgia

Most days during the week I have no plans.  I usually spend my mornings cleaning, attempting to work out, and catching up on everything I am missing in the states. When Andrew gets home from practice he usually has some suggestion for how to spend the rest of the afternoon. But there are days when we sit and stare at each other, playing the ever-annoying game of :

“What do you want to do?”

“I don’t know. What do you want to do?”

“I don’t know.”

On one such day we decided to get up and drive around. Surely there would be something.

We spotted a mini golf course. Yes! This would be fun. But it turned out it wasn’t a mini golf course but another form of “mini golf” in which we needed to buy special mallets. With no idea what they were or what the game was called, we went searching at a home-goods store (much like a Target/Wal-Mart). No luck. What we did find was a kite. Hey, what else were we going to do?

With the kite in tow, we found an open field by the river. Were we seriously going to fly a kite? I haven’t done this since I was a kid. Would I even know how?

After many failed attempts at getting the kite off the ground, (this included running across the entire field in a full-out sprint and painstakingly throwing the kite every which way to get it in the air) Andrew was successful.

I was not.

Sitting on the ground watching the kite in the air, I couldn’t help but start singing that song from Mary Poppins … I felt like I was a kid again!

Let’s go fly a kite!

One thought on “Nostalgia

  1. Hi Kids, Love your Darth Vadar scary kite. Isn’t kite flying a popular sport(?) in Japan. I hope the game you were refering to wasn’t Phase 10–just kidding. Good for you to try to learn the language especially when there are so many characters. Keep seeking out the unusual-you’ll never regret it. Saynoora and love to you both. Nona

Tell me what you think ...

