soba

A lot goes on in this town. And sadly, most of it passes us by. It’s hard when you can’t understand the language of your surroundings. Fortunately, one big event didn’t come and go without Andrew and I attending. Nikko’s annual Soba Festival. Soba is a noodle made of buckwheat. It has become a staple in this area’s diet. Each November vendors gather together to showcase their products, among other things. It was almost like a mini (very  mini) state fair.

You better believe I tried every sample I could get my hands on 🙂

The official mascot of Nikko. Thank God for zoom lenses, I am terrified of mascots.

At first glance, I thought these were marshmallows. Excited, I walked over to try some. These were definitely not marshmallows. And I didn’t try any. But I’d still like to know what they are.

Fish on a stick (by fish, I mean a whole fish). One of the most popular booths around. Again, I didn’t try.

For being such polite people, the Japanese sure can be pushy. Entering the restaurant section, we were screamed at by every station to come and try their food. This woman holding up noodles was probably the most animated. Unfortunately, her restaurant didn’t seem appetizing. But I’ll give her an “A” for effort.

Who can make your day? The candyman can. I found this guy when we were leaving the festival. The childlike music coming from his booth lured me in. And of course I had to go with the Hello Kitty bag.

I’ve been to plenty of food shows but nothing as out of the ordinary as this. From fish on a stick to assorted rice crackers, there was something for everyone … Well, maybe not for me. At least I found some cotton candy.

Tell me what you think ...

