My Humble Abode

When I think of Japan, one of the first things I think of is the word small. The average sized person is small (smaller than what I am used to), the cars are small, the food portions at the grocery store are small, and the living spaces are … well … small. Before I came over to join Andrew, he gave me a virtual tour via Skype. And the apartment was … well … small. Yikes. I had grown up in a fairly decent sized house. In college, I only spent one semester in the dorms (yes, my sorority house had small bedrooms but at least it was a huge house). After that, on my own, I had the luxury of living in a two bedroom townhouse. So when I came to Japan, all I could think of was … small. Very small. I guess I’ve got to get used to it. On the upside, it has taught me a few things. For starters, it has taught me how to get rid of junk that I simply do not need (not to mention, how to not BUY that same junk that I do not need). It might have also taught me to be a little more tidier 🙂

And now, what your typical Japanese apartment looks like (Disclaimer: our apartment is considered to be a large one bedroom, I couldn’t imagine how other people do it in a smaller one)

We will start from the doorway …

As you can see, we have “created space” with Andrew’s makeshift coat closet on the left. Made from a shower rod shoved in between a cabinet and wall.

Down the hall and to the right we have the living room.

It comfortably fits a click clack and small leather sofa. Which is nice when your fiancé takes up a whole couch to himself.

Next to the living room is the kitchen.

There is limited counter space in this kitchen. For not being a cook, I thought I could handle it, turns out I cannot handle it. It has left me very, very frustrated when trying to prepare even a simple meal of grilled cheese. And now I know why most people LOVE a big kitchen in their house (with lots of counter space).

The bedroom is at the end of the hallway, right next to the kitchen. It is just big enough to fit a bed.

And most importantly … 

Looking back, I guess the amount of clothes I “needed” to bring turned into more of a hassle. Right, Laura? There is another similar closet on the other side of the room (and again, it is full of my clothing). Isn’t there the saying, “A girl can never have too many shoes.”? Well, in this case, I can never have too many sweaters.

And finally for the grand finale, the bathroom. Trust me, you’ll want to see it.

This room doubles as a laundry room. I hate this room. I hate this room more than I hate the counter space in the kitchen. The reason is because I feel like I can never get this room clean. I even went and splurged on some bleach at the drugstore. And still, no matter what I use or how I clean it, it does not have that Mr. Clean feeling.

But … there might be one teeny, tiny thing I do like about this room. The toilet and shower are separate. See…

The shower is closed off by a door that locks and suctions, essentially making it a room. There is a small bath that barely fits one person, and then the wide open space for the shower. That blue thing is a stool. (The Japanese like to sit down and relax when they bathe) But for those used to standing, there is a knob to hang the shower head up high. (I prefer the stool, lazy I know)

And lastly, the toilet. This is probably the most advanced toilet I have ever seen. Aside from the obvious bidet functions, this toilet has a seat warmer and … a water faucet on top. A nice reminder after you flush to wash your hands after you’ve used the bathroom.

Hope you enjoyed the tour 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Humble Abode

  1. Thanks for the tour. And I thought my condo was small!!! you are right, you can learn how to get along with less. Tonight I’m having friends over for lasagna in my tiny, cozy kitchen. I always think–it’s like the cabin. Love you, Nona

Tell me what you think ...

