Frustration. @#$%!

I’ve been in Japan for 2 weeks now. From the obvious culture shock and adjustment, there is one thing that seems to be causing me the most frustration. Driving. Aside from not having a very good internal compass, I find myself getting behind the wheel and getting completely confused with my lefts and rights. You would think by now, at 25, I’d know the difference between left and right. But with my hands on the steering wheel, everything from elementary school has escaped me. The reason, I believe, is because I am being forced to drive on the opposite side of the road. This goes against everything I have learned and have been doing for the past 10 years of my driving life. How am I ever going to get used to this?!

My first time on the road went a little something like this…

“Ready to go to the grocery store?”

“Yep! But do you mind if I drive? I wanna see if I can do this.”

“Sure … just remember to stay on the left.”

I may have looked ready, but in my head I was kicking myself for being so eager. Not even half a block down the road and I was already beginning to sweat. #$%@!!!

The drive to the grocery store went fairly smooth. I found myself going well under the speed limit and every time I was told to take a right or a left I had to rethink what I was actually doing. Am I 16 again? There were only a few u-turns, a few quick reverses to avoid an accident, and I think Andrew only got a few grey hairs 🙂

Hopefully I’ll get better each time I beg to drive (why???). And hopefully the anxiety will begin to cease … until then I’ll just continue screaming “#$%@!” (in my head) every time I make a turn.

One thought on “Frustration. @#$%!

Tell me what you think ...

